Incognito Press

truth. knowledge. freedom. passion. courage. Promoting free-thinking, activism & rogue writing.

Back from vacation

Posted by E on August 6, 2012

Ok, so I’m back from taking a week off to travel to New England with my partner, who had a business thing to attend in Boston. We were there about 3 days: the city is beautiful, its architecture making it probably the most beautiful city I’ve seen in the US so far, but the overarching rudeness I’ve witnessed makes it a place I wouldn’t choose to live. It’s the only place I’ve ever been where I got ragged on by a cab driver for not leaving a large enough tip. Anyway….

Afterwards we took the ferry over to Provincetown, where we stayed another 3 nights. It’s a place I always wanted to see, and finally get to check off my list (as much as it reminds me of Nova Scotia and Cape Breton). P-town was hot, dusty and crowded as hell, but once we ventured away from the craziness of Commercial Street (a more appropriate name never existed), I found the rugged beaches and sandy, grassy coves to be so beautiful. There’s something magnificent about seeing wild grass grow right through sand dunes and sway toward the water. I could sit by that water forever, despite the powerful undertow that threatens to pull even the most experienced swimmer away into the blissful vastness of the ocean.

This would be a great place to visit in September, I think – still warm and sunny, but without the throngs of screaming children and sweaty tourists (we had the great fortune of ending up there during Family Week).

So I’m sun-burned and a bit tired, but the thing I can’t shake off is how it feels like I’ve been gone so much longer than a week. And to be honest, I don’t think this vacation has made the slightest dent in how I’m feeling these days. All right, enough of being a downer. Before you know it, I’ll say something that will have to be password-protected again, so I’d better just stop here.

Leave a Reply

 
