Incognito Press

truth. knowledge. freedom. passion. courage. Promoting free-thinking, activism & rogue writing.

I got into UBC!

Posted by E on December 15, 2010

On Friday morning (Dec. 10) I received an email from the UBC Creative Writing department informing me that I had been ACCEPTED into their MFA program! The news was so thrilling, considering that: 1) I had convinced myself I wasn’t going to get in, since they have such a low acceptance rate, and 2) the program is the oldest and most reputable in Canada, widely-regarded as the Iowa of Canada.

Yesterday I wrote them back and officially accepted their invitation to the 2011 low-residency session. I’m still glowing, as you can possibly glean from this uber excitable post:) I chose UBC (University of British Columbia) over other schools because when I graduate, I will have a diploma identical to those who attend the full-residency program, and from one of the top 3 universities in Canada and among the top 35 in the world.

Unlike other MFA programs/diploma mills that have recently started being offered in this country, the UBC one is a legitimate, prestigious and most of all, REAL university graduate studies program. If anyone wants to know more about what I mean by that (and which new programs are unfortunately less legitimate than others and in my opinion should be avoided), feel free to contact me in private.

Unfortunately, with the increased popularity of MFA, particularly south of the border, any community college or private institution can spring up and offer diplomas at often exorbitant fees. If you do wish to pursue this route, do yourself a favour – look not only at the faculty, but ask yourself who is behind the program. How long has it been around? What is its reputation both at home and abroad? You owe it to yourself to make sure you only apply to time-tested, authentic programs – that way you won’t regret it down the line. I know it seems like common sense, but I’ve read of too many eager young artists who accept the first offer that comes their way.

Anyway, I’m so beyond excited and can’t wait to see Vancouver for the first time next summer! If anything, this acceptance is a boost in my morale and it’s definitely a great motivator for me to get back to work on my new novel. But no worries, I’m not actually moving to Vancouver – this is a long-distance program in which I only have to go up to BC once a year, for a couple of weeks during the summer. Have I mentioned how I really, really cannot wait? I’m so, so happy 🙂




Leave a Reply

 
