Incognito Press

truth. knowledge. freedom. passion. courage. Promoting free-thinking, activism & rogue writing.

I miss Europe…..

Posted by E on June 10, 2010

London, May 2010

I know I said it before, but still…exploding volcanoes, euro crashing, Greek riots, the EU splitting up, and least of all, those airport shut-downs…what else could go wrong in Europe this summer?

And yet this is where part of my heart lies. Where I’ve been most alive.

Like everybody born in one place and reared in another, my feet straddle two continents, and it seems like I am never whole. Yes, I know that what you call your “home” ought to reside within you, but there are still moments when I viscerally sense the absence of springtime in Canada, where I gaze up at the trees and almost expect to see white, pink and purple flowers in bloom…but there are only leaves. Vibrantly green, beautiful leaves, but nothing like the kaleidoscopic burst of petals and pastels I remember from my childhood.

Do you ever feel like you want to be in two places at once? It’s like that early morning moment when you’ve just woken up but you’re not altogether sure which world is real – the one of dreams and longing, or the one that protrudes, weed-like, through traffic and ashphalt?

3 Responses to “I miss Europe…..”

  1. tourisita said

    Yes, I do. Somedays I absolutely feel like I could be in two places! I guess, for me that is the blessing or curse of being born and raised in one place and then moving and living in another place for a long long time!

  2. Elisa said

    It’s exciting to have more than one homeland, but that can leave one with a split sense of duality and belonging…I read about your travels on your own blog. Spain is one of my favourite places in the world. I must have ancestors from there, it calls to me like nothing else.

  3. World Travel Tours said

    […] I miss Europe….. […]

Leave a Reply

 
